Cricket World Cup Winners List(1975-2023)

Cricket World Cup Winners List

The ICC Cricket World Cup brings so much excitement for the Cricket followers as it gives so many unpredictable results which increases the excitement for the cricket fans.

In this blog, we’ll provide you with the full list of Cricket World Cup winners.

Country-Wise ODI World Cup Winners List

Australia is the most successful team in the ICC ODI World Cup wh0 have won 5 times and finished as the runner-up 2 times.

After Australia, India and West Indies won the World Cup title 2 times. The last ICC ODI Men World Cup 2019 was held in England and Wales and this world cup was won by the hosting country England for the first time.  

Here is the list of ICC ODI Cricket World Cup winners country-wise:

TeamFinal AppearancesWinnersRunnersYears WonYears Runner-Up
Australia7521987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 20151975, 1996
England41320191979, 1987, 1992
India3211983, 20112003
New Zealand2022015, 2019
Sri Lanka31219962007, 2011
West Indies3211975,19791983

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List Year Wise

Here is the complete list of ODI World Cup Winners from 1975 to 2022.

This list contains the winner, runner-up, host nation, final match score and the year.

YearHost NationWinnerScoreRunner-upScoreResult
1975EnglandWest Indies291–8Australia274West Indies won by 17 runs
1979EnglandWest Indies286–9England194West Indies won by 92 runs
1983EnglandIndia183West Indies140India won by 43 runs
1987India and PakistanAustralia253–5England246–8Australia won by 7 runs
1992Australia and New ZealandPakistan249–6England227Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996Pakistan and IndiaSri Lanka245–3Australia241Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999EnglandAustralia133–2Pakistan132Australia won by 8 wickets
2003South AfricaAustralia359–2India234Australia won by 125 runs
2007West IndiesAustralia281–4Sri Lanka215–8Australia won by 53 runs
2011India and BangladeshIndia277–4Sri Lanka274–6India won by 6 wickets
2015Australia and New ZealandAustralia186–3New Zealand183Australia won by 7 wickets
2019England and WalesEngland241New Zealand241–8Match tied after regular play and super over; England won on boundary count

Over 231 students have started their journey in Sports with us.

We can help you as well!

ICC World Cup Winners & Winning Captains List

The captain of the team plays a crucial role in winning an ICC tournament.

Here is a detailed list of cricket world cup winning captains list since 1975:

2019EnglandEoin Morgan
2015AustraliaMichael Clarke
2011IndiaMS Dhoni
2007AustraliaRicky Ponting
2003AustraliaRicky Ponting
1999AustraliaSteve Waugh
1996Sri LankaArjuna Ranatunga
1992PakistanImran Khan
1987AustraliaAllan Border
1983IndiaKapil Dev
1979West IndiesClive Lloyd
1975West IndiesClive Lloyd

List of cricket world cup winners since 1975

Here is the complete list of ICC ODI World Cup Winners since 1975:

1975: West Indies

1979: West Indies

1983: India

1987: Australia

1992: Pakistan

1996: Sri Lanka

1999: Australia

2003: Australia

2007: Australia

2011: India

2015: Australia

2019: England

Over 231 students have started their journey in Sports with us.

We can help you as well!

ICC T20 WC Winners & Winning Captains List

India won the inaugural T20 World Cup Tournament under MS Dhoni’s Captaincy. India played a final match against Pakistan which is considered as one of the most thrilling matches ever in ICC World Cup match history.

Following is the list of ICC T20 WC winning teams and their captains:

YearWinning TeamCaptain
2007IndiaM S Dhoni
2009PakistanYounis Khan
2010EnglandPaul Collingwood
2012West IndiesDarren Sammy
2014Sri LankaDinesh Chandimal
Lasith Malinga
2016West IndiesDarren Sammy
2021AustraliaAaron Finch
2022EnglandJos Buttler


Cricket World Cups have witnessed some incredible battles, moments of individual brilliance, and team efforts that have left a lasting impact on the cricketing world. While several teams have achieved success, the West Indies, Australia, and India stand out with their multiple World Cup wins

These victories have not only brought glory to their respective nations but have also showcased the depth of talent and the unwavering passion for cricket that exists around the world. As we look forward to future Cricket World Cups, the competition is bound to intensify, with teams striving to etch their names in cricketing history alongside these giants. The cricketing world eagerly awaits the next chapter which will begin from this year’s October month under this thrilling saga of world-class competition.

About The Author

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top

Schedule a Free Consultation Call Today!