IPL records and stats at MA Chidambaram Stadium

IPL records and stats at the MA Chidambaram Stadium

The M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, also known as Chepauk Stadium, is a cricket stadium located in Chennai, India. It is named after M. A. Chidambaram, who was the President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) from 1963 to 1975.

The stadium was established in 1916 and is one of the oldest cricket stadiums in India. It has a seating capacity of 38,000 and is home to the Tamil Nadu cricket team and the Chennai Super Kings, a franchise team in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

The stadium has hosted several international cricket matches, including Test matches, One Day Internationals, and Twenty20 Internationals. It has also hosted domestic matches and IPL matches.

The first Test match at the MA Chidambaram stadium was played in 1934 between India and England. The highest individual score in Test cricket for India was achieved at this stadium by Virender Sehwag of India, who scored 319 runs against South Africa in 2008.

The stadium has undergone several renovations over the years and is now equipped with modern facilities such as floodlights, a video screen, and a state-of-the-art sound system. It has also hosted non-cricketing events such as music concerts and political rallies.

The M.A. Chidambaram Stadium is considered to be one of the iconic cricket stadiums in India and has witnessed many historic moments in Indian cricket.

Being a popular venue in the IPL this stadium is the home ground for the Chennai Super Kings (CSK), one of the most successful teams in the IPL.

The Chennai Super Kings have a great record at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, having won most of their home matches at the stadium. The team has won the IPL championship four times and has finished as runners-up on five occasions.

The atmosphere at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium during IPL matches is electric, with fans cheering for their favorite teams and players. The stadium has witnessed some of the most exciting matches in the history of the IPL.

Let’s look at the IPL records and stats at MA Chidambaram Stadium.

List of IPL records at MA Chidambaram Stadium

Let us have a look at the multiple IPL records at MA Chidambaram Stadium.

Note: The stats mentioned below are updated till 12th April 2023.

Highest innings totals at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in the IPL


Lowest innings totals at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in the IPL


All-time leading IPL run scorers at the MA Chidambaram Stadium

BatsmanTotal runs
SK Raina1506
MS Dhoni1407
MEK Hussey848
F du Plessis553
S Badrinath438

All-time leading IPL wicket-taker at the MA Chidambaram Stadium

BowlerWickets taken
R Ashwin48
DJ Bravo44
JA Morkel35
RA Jadeja21
DE Bollinger20

Highest individual score by a batsman at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in the IPL

SR Watson101CSK2013
SK Raina100KXIP2013
BB McCullum100SRH2015
SR Watson96SRH2019
MEK Hussey95KKR2013

Best bowling figures at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in the IPL

A Russell5 for 15MI2021
L Balaji5 for 24KXIP2008
H Patel5 for 27MI2021
RA Jadeja4 for 11RR2015
Imran Tahir4 for 12DC2019

About The Author

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top

Schedule a Free Consultation Call Today!