Highest Number of ODI Cricket World Cup Wins

Highest Number of ODI Cricket World Cup Wins

The Cricket World Cup is like the ultimate prize in One Day International (ODI) cricket, and it has been that way since it first began back in 1975. 

Teams from all over the world have battled fiercely to get their hands on this prestigious trophy. They’ve shown not just their cricketing skills but also their sheer determination and love for the game. 

While many teams have had their moment of glory, there are a select few that have consistently outshone the rest, proving that they are the true giants of the cricketing world. 

In this blog we will have a look at the countries with most ODI cricket world cup titles to their names.

Teams with the Highest Number of Cricket World Cup Wins

TeamWinnersYears WonRunnersYears Runners
Australia51987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 201521975, 1996
India21983, 201112003
West Indies21975, 197911983
England1201931979, 1987, 1992
Sri Lanka1199622007, 2011
New Zealand022015, 2019

Over 231 students have started their journey in Sports with us.

We can help you as well!

The top countries with most ODI world cup wins

Australia (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015)

Australia emerged as a cricketing powerhouse in the late 20th century and has maintained its dominance in the World Cup. Led by legendary captains like Allan Border, Steve Waugh, and Ricky Ponting, the Australian team lifted the trophy an impressive five times. Their consistent success and strong team performances have made them one of the most feared teams in World Cup history.

India (1983, 2011)

India’s cricketing legacy took a giant leap forward in 1983 when they won their first-ever World Cup under the leadership of Kapil Dev. The triumph ignited a cricketing revolution in the nation. Nearly three decades later, in 2011, India lifted their second World Cup title, led by the charismatic MS Dhoni. These victories have solidified India’s position as a cricketing powerhouse.

West Indies (1975, 1979)

The West Indies cricket team, often referred to as the ‘Windies,’ burst onto the World Cup scene with a bang. They clinched the inaugural tournament in 1975, showcasing their power in both batting and bowling. The Windies continued their dominance by winning the 1979 edition as well, cementing their status as early World Cup legends.


Cricket World Cups have witnessed some incredible battles, moments of individual brilliance, and team efforts that have left a lasting impact on the cricketing world. While several teams have achieved success, the West Indies, Australia, and India stand out with their multiple World Cup wins.

These victories have not only brought glory to their respective nations but have also showcased the depth of talent and the unwavering passion for cricket that exists around the world. 

As we look forward to future Cricket World Cups, the competition is bound to intensify, with teams striving to etch their names in cricketing history alongside these giants. The cricketing world eagerly awaits the next chapter in this thrilling saga of world-class competition.

Over 231 students have started their journey in Sports with us.

We can help you as well!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top

Schedule a Free Consultation Call Today!