Most Runs In Asia Cup History

most runs in Asia Cup

The 15th edition of the Asia cup is scheduled to start from 27th August in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). The first game will be played between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan, and India will step on the field for the first time on 28th August, for the much awaited India vs Pakistan match!

Before we go further into this blog, it is important to know which all cricketing nations actually play in this tournament. In total, the Asia Cup takes place among 6 nations. Out of this, there are 5 permanent teams:

  • India
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Bangladesh
  • Afghanistan

For the 6th place, a qualifier is played between nations like:

  • UAE
  • Kuwait
  • Singapore
  • Hong Kong

Whoever wins this qualifier gets to be part of the Asia Cup. 

The Asia Cup has seen some amazing matches over the years. Many games have gone down to the wire, and kept fans to their edge of the seats. India by far is the most successful team in Asia Cup as they have won the competition a record number of 7 times. Surely this time around they will be looking to add another feather to their cap. 

With the tournament starting again soon, we aim to have a look at the top batsmen, who scored the most runs in the history of Asia Cup. 

You might be a bit surprised to see this list, but here it is:

Asia Cup Highest Run Getters

1. Sanath JayasuriyaSL251990-2008122013053.0463
2. Kumar SangakkaraSL242004-2014107512148.8648
3. Sachin TendulkarIND231990-201297111451.127
4.Shoaib MalikPAK212000-201890714364.7834
5.Rohit SharmaIND272008-2018883111*42.0417
6.Virat KohliIND162010-201676618363.8332
7.Arjuna RanatungaSL191984-1997741131*5716
8.Mushfiqur RahimBAN262008-201873914432.1322
9.MS DhoniIND242008-2018690109*6913
10.Mahela JayawardeneSL282000-201467429.37807

1. Sanath Jayasuriya

Sanath Jayasuriya is the highest run scorer in Asia Cup history

The number one batsmen on the list is Sri Lanka’s former batsmen and legend: Sanath Jayasuriya. The Little Dynamite played professional cricket for Sri Lanka from 1990-2008. Talking about the Asia Cup, there has not been a more dominating batsmen than Jayasuriya. 

The Sri Lankan played 25 matches in it, scoring a whooping 1220 runs at an average of 53.04 at a strike rate of 102.52. Jayasuriya made 3 half centuries and 9 centuries along this. 

Sanath was a force to reckon with for the Asian bowlers, and no one has scored more runs in this tournament than him so far. He is also the player who has won the most Man of the Match awards. 

2. Kumar Sangakara

Kumar Sangakara is the 2nd highest run scorer in Asia Cup history

Were you expecting an Indian? Sorry to disappoint you, but next on the list is another Sri Lankan, Kumar Sangakkara. The former wicket-keeper batsmen, and vice-captain of the Lankans, left a great impact on the Asia Cup. 

Sangakkara or more popularly known as Sanga, played 24 matches in the tournament, scoring 1075 runs, at an average of 48.86 at a strike rate of 84.51

Sanga had 8 half centuries and 4 centuries to his name during this tournament. 

The two Sri Lankans have the most runs in the Asia cup so far in each edition. 

3. Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar is the 3rd highest run getter at Asia Cup

Was this the name that you were waiting for? Well, it is finally here! Number three on the list of most runs scored in the Asia Cup is none other than Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar. 

The Indian Master Blaster who is regarded as the greatest batsmen of all time, played 21 matches in the Asia Cup from 2000-2018. Tendulkar scored 971 runs with an average of 51.10 at a strike rate of 85.47

Sachin scored 7 half centuries and 2 centuries during this time, being India’s top scorer in all editions of the format. 

Top Run Scorers in Asia Cup Edition Wise

Here is a list of players who have been the highest run getters in each edition of Asia Cup:

EditionYearPlayerTeamMost Runs
14th2018Shikhar DhawanIndia342
13th2016Sabbir RahmanBangladesh176
12th2014Lahiru ThirimanneSri Lanka279
11th2012Virat KohliIndia357
10th2010Shahid AfridiPakistan265
9th2008Sanath JayasuriyaSri Lanka378
8th2004Shoaib MalikPakistan316
7th2000Yousuf YouhanaPakistan295
6th1997Arjuna RanatungaSri Lanka272
5th1995Sachin TendulkarIndia205
4th1990–91Arjuna RanatungaSri Lanka166
3rd1988Ijaz AhmedPakistan192
2nd1986Arjuna RanatungaSri Lanka105
1st1984Surinder KhannaIndia107

Over 231 students have started their journey in Sports with us.

We can help you as well!


So far the Sri Lankans have been dominating this tournament when it comes to the most runs scored. But the likes of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli still have time to catch them up, and maybe even surpass them. 

The Asia Cup starts soon, and we are very excited for it.  Which team are you rooting for this time around? Who do you think will win? Let us know in the comments below!

About The Author

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top

Schedule a Free Consultation Call Today!