How many cricket world cups have India won?

How many world cups have India won

In the heartlands of India, cricket isn’t just a sport; it’s a religion. The roar of the crowd, the iconic blue jerseys, and the sheer passion that fills the stadiums when the Indian cricket team takes the field are sights and sounds that have become identical with the country’s love for the game.

The question “How many times has India won the Cricket World Cup?” has come up in numerous talks and discussions. This blog gets to take you on a nostalgic tour through the occasions when India won the world championship in cricket.

India’s Cricket World Cup Triumphs

FormatYearCaptainFinal match opponentFinal match venue
ODI1983Kapil DevWest IndiesLord’s, London
T202007MS DhoniPakistanWanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
ODI2011MS DhoniSri LankaWankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Over 231 students have started their journey in Sports with us.

We can help you as well!

1. 1983 Cricket World Cup

The Indian cricket team started a spectacular journey in 1983 under the inspirational guidance of Kapil Dev. India faced the dominant West Indies, a group that had dominated world cricket for over a decade, in the final at Lord’s. India won against all odds, and millions of people will never forget the sight of Kapil Dev lifting the World Cup.

2. 2011 Cricket World Cup

When India hosted the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2011, the world witnessed another historic moment about three decades later. M.S. Dhoni led the Indian team, which was remarkably consistent throughout the competition. India’s victory over Sri Lanka in the World Cup final at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium brought Tendulkar’s dream of winning the world cup to a happy conclusion.

3. 2007 T20 World Cup

India won the first edition of T20 World Cup in South Africa in 2007. With M.S. Dhoni leading the team, a relatively young squad emerged victorious. The final match versus Pakistan was tense, but India showed calmness to win the game and lift the inaugural T20 World Cup.

4. 2013 Champions Trophy

The ICC Champions Trophy has a status that is unique, even though it isn’t a World Cup. India has won this competition a couple of times, once in 2002 (held in Sri Lanka) and again in 2013 (held in England). The team showed incredible talent and commitment both times to win the championship.

*India and Sri Lanka declared co-champions in 2002 Champions Trophy.

India’s Standings in Previous World Cups:

Here is the complete list of India’s standings in different editions of ICC ODI World Cups:

  • 1975: Group stage
  • 1979: Group stage
  • 1983: Winner Final Match Scorecard
  • 1987: Semi Finals
  • 1992: Group stage
  • 1996: Semi-Finals
  • 1999: Super Six
  • 2003: Runners-up
  • 2007: Group stage
  • 2011: Winner Final Match Scorecard
  • 2015: Semi-Finals
  • 2019: Semi-Finals

Over 231 students have started their journey in Sports with us.

We can help you as well!

Conclusion: How many times has India won the Cricket World Cup? 

The answer is twice in the One Day International format (1983 and 2011), once in the T20 World Cup (2007), and twice in the ICC Champions Trophy (2002 and 2013). These victories have left a lasting impression on the history of Indian cricket, as well as on the hearts of millions of people worldwide.

Let us never forget the historic victories and determination that have made India a cricketing powerhouse as we support the Men in Blue in upcoming competitions. The anticipation and excitement surrounding the 2023 ODI World Cup in India are at an all-time high. 

Every Indian cricket fan’s ambition is to witness their side win the World Cup on home soil again, and with the enthusiasm that both players and fans share, this upcoming contest could be the venue where India adds another triumph to its iconic history of accomplishments.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top

Schedule a Free Consultation Call Today!